Country in North Africa

Sudan, officially the Republic of the Sudan, is a country in the Nile Valley of North Africa, bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea, Eritrea, and Ethiopia, to the east, South Sudan to the south.

Capital: Khartoum
Dialling code: +249
President: Omar al-Bashir
Currency: Sudanese pound
Population: 37.96 million (2013) World Bank
Official languages: Arabic, English